Citi Double Cash vs Chase Freedom Unlimited (2026): Flat 2% or Tiered 3%/1.5%?
Citi® Double Cash vs Chase Freedom Unlimited® on verified terms: flat 2% vs 3% dining/drugstores + 1.5%, both $0 annual fee, transferable points vs cash back. Verdict first.
Verdict: Choose Citi® Double Cash Card if you want one rate on everything and rewards that can move to travel partners. Choose Chase Freedom Unlimited® if dining and drugstores take up a large share of your spending. On this site’s $18,000 assumption the flat card wins by $36 a year, but the tiered card overtakes it once dining and drugstores pass one-third of total spend.
Decision standards
Three questions decide this pair, in this order.
- What share of your spending is dining and drugstores? Chase Freedom Unlimited® pays 3% there and 1.5% on other purchases, per the Chase issuer product page, checked 2026-10-14. Citi® Double Cash pays a flat 2% (Citi issuer product page).
- Do you want rewards that convert to travel? Citi’s rewards are ThankYou® Points, which transfer to 15+ travel partners (Citi issuer product page). This site records Freedom Unlimited’s rewards as cash back.
- Do you need a balance-transfer runway? Citi lists an 18-month 0% intro APR on balance transfers, a 3% transfer fee (minimum $5), and a 5% fee after four months (Citi issuer product page). This site records no comparable intro APR for Freedom Unlimited®.
The $36 arithmetic
The assumption is fixed and public: $18,000 a year, made up of $3,600 dining, $4,800 U.S. supermarkets, and $9,600 other spending. Supermarkets fall into Freedom Unlimited’s 1.5% bucket.
- Citi® Double Cash: 2% × $18,000 = $360 a year (Citi issuer product page)
- Chase Freedom Unlimited®: 3% × $3,600 + 1.5% × $14,400 = $108 + $216 = $324 a year (Chase issuer product page)
The flat card leads by $36 a year. The break-even point follows from the same rates: the tiered card wins only when 3% × dining + 1.5% × other is greater than 2% × total, which means dining and drugstores must exceed one-third of total spend (Chase issuer product page). Replace the assumption with your own figures. These numbers cover rewards rates only; they leave out welcome bonuses, fees, and transfer value.
Who each card fits
Citi® Double Cash suits people who want a predictable rate on every purchase, can use transferable points, and may need a balance-transfer runway. It fits spending spread across many categories rather than concentrated in restaurants and pharmacies.
Chase Freedom Unlimited® suits people whose week runs through restaurants and drugstores and who want simple cash back with no annual fee. The annual fee is $0 for both cards in this site’s records (Citi issuer product page; Chase issuer product page).
Trade-offs
Citi’s flat rate is simpler, but its foreign transaction fee is a listed con in this site’s records, and its intro APR applies to balance transfers rather than new purchases. Its regular APR is 18.49%–28.74% variable (Citi issuer product page). Citi’s listed welcome offer is $200 back after $1,500 in spending in six months, which the arithmetic above does not include.
Freedom Unlimited’s tiered structure rewards one habit, but this site records no welcome bonus and no intro APR for it, so the bonus side of this comparison is thin. Its regular APR is not recorded here either.
Before you apply
- Pull three months of statements and total your dining, drugstore, supermarket, and other spending.
- Run the one-third test: does dining plus drugstores exceed a third of your total? If the share sits near that line, rerun the test with twelve months of data, because one statement can mislead.
- Decide whether you will carry a balance. If you will, the intro APR and regular APR matter more than the rewards rate.
- Confirm the current annual fee, foreign transaction fee, and bonus terms on each issuer’s site.
Limits of this comparison
- Approval, which depends on your credit profile and the issuer’s criteria.
- Your personal result. The $18,000 split is an assumption, and a different mix changes the answer.
- Current rates, fees, or offers. Our figures date from 2026-10-14; the issuer’s website decides.
- The dollar value of Citi points in travel. This site records no cents-per-point figure, so it does not convert points to cash.
The terms on each issuer’s site decide; nothing here is financial advice.
Context
Both cards sit in the 2026 ranking: Citi® Double Cash at #1 and Chase Freedom Unlimited® at #9. The scoring rules and the spending assumption behind the arithmetic live on the methodology page. Check both offers’ terms before acting.
FAQ
Is Citi Double Cash better than Chase Freedom Unlimited?
On the published $18,000 spending assumption the flat Citi® Double Cash pays $36 a year more, because the assumption caps dining at $3,600. If dining and drugstores pass one-third of your total spend, the tiered Chase Freedom Unlimited® card comes out ahead. Terms apply to both.
Which card has the better welcome bonus?
Only Citi® Double Cash has a recorded bonus: $200 back, paid as 20,000 ThankYou® Points, after $1,500 in purchases in 6 months, as recorded on 2026-09-29. This site records no welcome bonus for Chase Freedom Unlimited®, so it does not state one.
Does either card charge a foreign transaction fee?
Citi® Double Cash does: our records list a foreign transaction fee as one of its cons. This site records no foreign transaction fee value for Chase Freedom Unlimited®, so it does not state one. Check the issuer's terms before travel.